Sunday Surf: June 16-22

Sunday Surf with Authentic Parenting and Hobo MamaI’m joining Authentic Parenting and Hobo Mama for Sunday Surf. Share your best reading of the week, and link up your post at either blog!

For more great reading, visit Hobo Mama or Authentic Parenting for the latest Sunday Surf and linky.

Happy Surfing!

(I’m annoyed because what you’re seeing is my second attempt at writing out my Sunday Surf.  For some reason it all got erased when I hit schedule… apparently a blank post was the last saved draft, too. Sigh.)

Well thought out reaction to the viral “modest swimwear” video (as seen on Facebook):: Whosoever Looketh On A Woman… | To Every One That Believeth

Advised reading from my dad:: Working with the Obstacles in Your Path | Zenhabits

From Upworthy:: Roger Ebert quote in pictures

Don’t Carpe Diem Me (a male view):: To parents of small children: Let me be the one to say it out loud | The Actual Preacher

Graduation season from Not Just Cute:: Building Strong Boys: Beyond Me, Here, and Now & On the Other Side of Fear

5 Ways to Meet the Right People | Marc and Angel Hack Life

It’s Not Okay to Yell at Your Kids | Family Your Way

To be the popular house on the block… don’t care about how your house looks like:: Embrace summer: let go of imperfections | Simple Mom

For Kids:: Free LEGO Printables and 70+ LEGO Learning Activities | Living Montessori Now & Flag Day Activity For Kids | No Time For Flash Cards

2012’s Sunday Surfs!!
June 8-16 (2 links)
June 17-23 (multiple links on parenting, motivation & crafts/misc.)

About fraurab

A Germanophile, who is figuring out how to build her strengths through improving her mind, body and soul.
This entry was posted in 2013, Sunday Surf. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunday Surf: June 16-22

  1. brettfish says:

    This is really great – Steve let me reblog his post about parents of young children on my site and i linked it with this immensely popular one from my friend Candi [who also went through postnatal depression] and they both encouraged and challenged a lot of people:

    Thanks again
    love brett fish

  2. Really interesting post on the swimwear video. I’m for some reason fascinated with the subject of modesty and religion — not because I believe in it for myself (though I dress modestly regardless, just what I’m comfortable with for myself), but just because the whole subject is so interesting and so bound up in women’s roles and feminism. I really liked that author’s response. I was thinking the same thing when I saw the video: Plenty of people who believe in modesty would have been offended by the speaker’s bare shoulders, ha.

    I’m wondering if I can get over the messy house & enjoy having people over this summer. It’s been awhile since we’ve entertained since it’s been a wreck for so long!

    • fraurab says:

      Thanks for your input, Lauren! I have the same thoughts as you do with modesty, religion and female roles. I had a couple of Mormon Facebook friends say that they also didn’t like the over all message of the video, and feel that the Church puts dressing modestly on the girls’ shoulders, telling them “Who knows what the boys are thinking when you’re scantly clothed?!” I like the idea of dressing for confidence and teaching young women that they aren’t responsible for young men’s thoughts. (What the young men should be hearing in another discussion.)
      I, too, like the idea of hosting parties and being the popular house on the block, but as of now, I’m either too self conscious about how messy my house looks, or once it is clean, I don’t want my house to be constantly dirty from my guests. Those two things really stop me from being the hostess with the mostess. Maybe one day I’ll loosen up. :)

Leave a Reply

