Sunday Surf: Jan 15-21

This week’s blog posts are all about parenting, motivation to be a better parent and toddler activities.  And,  no, I didn’t trim down my links.  My first week participating in Sunday Surf, I just reviewed the posts that I had read the past week (thanks to Bloglovin, that’s easy.)  For the past two weeks, I’ve been editing the post as the week goes on, thus the increase of links.  I guess there are too many that impress me during the week!

Giving Your Children The Brush-Off  {Janet Lansbury}
This is another area of parenting, in which I’m relearning how to handle.  The reason why my husband and  I say, “You’re OK” is because we want to comfort her, or we plainly know that she’s okay.  I’m now practicing saying other words of comfort besides “You’re OK”, but I’m sure that I can’t convince Hubby otherwise.  It’s okay for her to feel hurt, sad or frustrated.  I shouldn’t feel like I need to instantly cure her crying.  I think that for the next baby I will have a different perspective when the newborn cries although I’m sure that I’ll be just as anxious to quieten him/her down in front of others or in public, though.

Is Picking Your Battles Necessary?  {guest post at Positive Parenting}
This is a great intro to gentle discipline, why it makes sense and how it can work in parenting toddlers.

Can you “enforce” your limits without force?  {Aha!}
This post couldn’t have come at a better time.  Today (last Tuesday) at the aquarium, I saw a handful of toddlers and younger kids throw tantrums and three kids in a time-out.  OK, so my little one also had a teeny tantrum before we left, but other than that I was feeling pretty good.  I don’t want to do time-outs with her, but since everyone around me is doing it, I also feel that I don’t have good enough reasons not to.  In theory (above), it can work.  It does make sense why time-outs do not work, or in the very least exaggerate the problem, but there isn’t a concrete “anti-time-out” that is as accepted as time-outs are.

Will Our Children Succeed In Spite Of Our Educational System?  {The Twin Coach via Janet Lansbury}
Yes, yes and yes!  Everything written here is spot on.  I’ve only discovered Alfie Kohn last year, and his writing has really opened my eyes.  Grades and “the system” are exactly what’s impeding me from going to graduate school.  First, I’ve been conditioned so much to get a certain grade that I’d feel like a failure if I don’t succeed my standards (or the standards of the institution!); second, my confidence in applying for grad school and that I’d be accepted into a program is low to none; and third, I have no strong interest in one subject that would compel me to study and research it ad nauseam (not at this time, anyway.)  I just need to stop telling myself that my success is contingent on a Master’s degree.  And boy do you know that I will be parenting with a little bit of “perfectionism-baggage” when my daughter starts school…

Talking about race with (white) kids  {Hobo Mama}
This is a hard subject to write about because it’s such an elephant in the room– discrimination, as well as reverse-discrimination, sexism and agism.  She also writes about white privilege, and how to address these issues with your young children.

These next three articles are self-explanatory, in that I have heard these ideas before, but they provide a good reminder and are well-written:
How to Play with Your Toddler
{Steady Mom via Simple Mom}

10 Tips for Preventing Parental Breakdowns
{Connected Mom}

Learning Naturally Through Conversation and Play {guest post at I can teach my child!}

Relationship advice:
Crafting Relationships: Dealing with Energy Drains  {Crafting my Life}
I love that Amber says that sometimes these negative people are likeable– like your grandpa, old friend, or sibling.  I definitely want to avoid these positive-energy-vampires but sometimes I do think, “What about them?  Will anyone try to bring sunlight into their lives?”  Maybe people have tried and they weren’t interested.  Am I being too much of a greedy person by putting myself first, surrounding myself with as many positive influences possible, in case that one negative friend pulls me down with her?

(Literal) Food for Thought:
Food Safety VS Nourishment  {Musings of a Housewife}
Am I skeptical that I should be putting butter on my carrots?  Yes!  But she says to do so…

Toddler activities:
Mixing up bright and colorful M&M paint in preschool {Teach Preschool}
This is a fun idea!  Deb talks about it in great detail, too.

Sensory Play Snow {No Time for Flashcards}
This is all over the blogosphere right now.  Maybe I should try this?  I’m a little scared about the MESS!

Kids Crafts: Traditional Walnut Babies {Red Ted’s Art’s Blog via No Time for Flash Cards}
What a cute craft.  I’d like to make these one day!

Books For Your Next Field Trip {No Time for Flash Cards}
These look like great books!

Journals with 3 Year Olds {Teaching 2 and 3 Year Olds}
So, so, so excited about this idea!  I remember doing this kind of thing in Kindergarten when my teacher made booklets out of paper and wall paper scraps.  This would be a fun way to track her growth, too (e.g. repeating the same activity every six months or so.)

colored ice blocks {Meet the Dubiens}
Fun idea to stack colored ice cubes!  To add another element, I’d try to “glue” the cubes together by using a paintbrush and some water (and that idea comes from Not Just Cute!)

Valentines Get Crafty- Craft & Ideas to Inspire  {Red Ted Art’s Blog}
If I need any Valentine’s Day ideas for the next decade, I know where to look!!

Motivation (for improvement):
Is your child coming up short? {Aha!}
Don’t let the title fool you– it’s more about the parents than how the children behave.
“Consider that maybe what our children need more than anything is appreciation for exactly who they are, right now.  Maybe that’s what helps them blossom.  Maybe you don’t have to take them in a little here, or let them out a little there.  Maybe you could spend 90% of your time saying YES! I LOVE YOU JUST THE WAY YOU ARE!” –Dr. Laura Markham

Is that Fair? {Not Just Cute}
This is an obvious post for a teacher to read, but it also gives some food for thought for parents and society in general.  Does fair mean being equal?
“I do think children need consistency and that they do rise to our (appropriate) expectations.  That said, however, I don’t believe that “fair” means everyone gets the same thing.  To me, “fair” means everybody gets what they need.” –Amanda Morgan

Sunday Surf with Authentic Parenting and Hobo MamaI’m joining Authentic Parenting and Hobo Mama for Sunday Surf. Share your best reading of the week, and link up your post at either blog!

For more great reading, visit Hobo Mama or Authentic Parenting for the latest Sunday Surf and linky.

Happy Surfing!

About fraurab

A Germanophile, who is figuring out how to build her strengths through improving her mind, body and soul.
This entry was posted in 2012, Sunday Surf. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Surf: Jan 15-21

  1. Pingback: Sunday Surf: Jan 13-19 | Old New Legacy

Leave a Reply

