Sunday Surf: Jan 1-7

Welcome to my very first Sunday Surf!  I have a {more than a} few posts to share.  My favorite blogs to peruse are mainly for preschool ideas (although my daughter is still 2), food, natural parenting and gentle discipline articles, and anything else that I peaks my interest.

Education posts:
Preschoolers and Toddlers Learning Together: Pasta Snakes {guest post on I can teach my child!}
This activity sounds fun and it incorporates patterns, colors, fine motor skills and two different age groups!

Finding balance between our outdoor safety and adventure in preschool {Teach Preschool}
I’m so happy for these kids to have such an engaging preschool!  This encourages me to let my daughter get adventurous in our own neighborhood.  We don’t want our kids to get hurt, but we still need to let them learn on their own.

Making Lois Ehlert style paper plate snowmen in preschool {Teach Preschool}
I can’t wait to read and make these with my daughter in a year or two!

Gentle Discipline or Natural Parenting posts:
When You Lose it With Your Child {Aha!}
Reminding us to keep calm, see the child’s point of view, and learn how to make this a habit!  Right now, with my 2-year-old, everything is dramatic.  Getting into the car seat, going back home from playing in the backyard’s playground, diaper changing, etc.  It’s wearing me down, and I know that I need to set up expectations so it doesn’t get worse!

Do You Have a Daughter? Just Yell Fire {Aha!}
I appreciate this resource.  It’s an interesting concept to yell “fire!” if you’re in trouble instead of “help”, which has a calling wolf effect, or even “rape”, which could intimidate people from helping.  “Fire” will get people’s attention the same way without it being too worn-out or scare people away.

The division of responsibility in sleeping {Hobo Mama}
We are having a hard time deciding how to get our toddler sleeping in her own bed.  This is a good reminder of how much control we really having to getting our kids to sleep, which is none, but we can control the sleep environment.

On Mommy Guilt and Carpe Diem {Anktangle}
Although I can’t relate entirely to Amy’s situation, I have experienced my fair share of Mommy Guilt, too.  I always want my daughter to be a “little bit older” in the hope that it will make parenting easier as well.  I have spoken to my mom and aunts, and they don’t miss babyhood.  I certainly don’t, but I hope to make that climb again one day.  I have the goal to enjoy my daughter for the person that she is, instead of her age.

Food or Craft posts:
Cranberry Upside Down Muffins {One Perfect Bite}
Don’t they look delicious?  I just began liking cranberry sauce a couple months ago (yes, at Thanksgiving!) We just need to go buy more cranberries.

New recipes on my food blog {Becky’s Kitchen}

DIY Tutorial: Creative Yarn Chandelier {Hostess with the Mostess blog}
If only I had the ambition to make these!  Wouldn’t they be show stoppers at your next party?  Maybe one day…

Sunday Surf with Authentic Parenting and Hobo MamaI’m joining Authentic Parenting and Hobo Mama for Sunday Surf. Share your best reading of the week, and link up your post at either blog!

For more great reading, visit Hobo Mama or Authentic Parenting for the latest Sunday Surf and linky.

Happy Surfing!

About fraurab

A Germanophile, who is figuring out how to build her strengths through improving her mind, body and soul.
This entry was posted in 2012, Sunday Surf and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday Surf: Jan 1-7

  1. Pingback: Sunday Surf: December 23-Jan. 5 | Old New Legacy

  2. fraurab says:

    Thanks for coming by! I’ll have to check out Parenting Gently. It seems like it would be right up my alley. Have a good week!

  3. Paige @ Baby Dust Diaries says:

    Hi there! Thanks for the links. I’m all over those muffins! and I love Aha! Parenting. Have you been to Parenting Gently? It is one of the sites I run (and NursingFreedom with Dionna from Codename Mama).

Leave a Reply

