What the Apple Teaches the Tree

Welcome to the January Carnival of Natural Parenting: Learning from children

This post was written for inclusion in the monthly Carnival of Natural Parenting hosted by Hobo Mama and Code Name: Mama. This month our participants have shared the many lessons their children have taught them. Please read to the end to find a list of links to the other carnival participants.

***


What the Apple Teaches the Tree (newborn-17 months old edition)

Starting from the beginning she has taught me
how amazing a woman’s body truly is by
creating a perfect baby, keeping her safe
and nurturing her within the womb and out;
Now I know the feelings of a babe growing inside,
knowing she’s mine

When she made her entrance, I officially became a mother;
my love for her unmatched by any other.
I learned quickly what she wanted from day to night
my maternal alarm clock woke me to her cries.
Staring at her while she suckled,
I worried about my little one;
Looking back I chuckle,
her feisty personality grows along with her–
she’s stronger than I ever thought possible

Her imagination teaches me to think outside the box
anything is possible with a few blocks;
When she gets a new toy, I’m reading the directions
while she’s figuring it out on her own:
banging, rolling, drumming, and babbling,
she doesn’t need a “how to” to have fun

Everyday I learn from her example on how to forget and forgive:
She cries when I say “no”,
then seconds later she wants to be held by her mommy;
She cries when I brush her teeth
and when it’s done, she wants to snuggle;
Living in the present isn’t easy for me,
it’s a good thing that I have a good teacher!

***

Carnival of Natural Parenting -- Hobo Mama and Code Name: MamaVisit Hobo Mama and Code Name: Mama to find out how you can participate in the next Carnival of Natural Parenting!

Please take time to read the submissions by the other carnival participants:

(This list will be live and updated by afternoon January 11 with all the carnival links.)

About fraurab

A Germanophile, who is figuring out how to build her strengths through improving her mind, body and soul.
This entry was posted in Carnival of Natural Parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What the Apple Teaches the Tree

  1. ps3 fix says:

    Great stuff, though there are a few points I would query.

  2. Couldn’t agree more with all the commenters. Sweet poem, and so true! Our children are our little zen masters, asking of us to be here, now. And now. And now.🙂

    I’m grateful we get so many chances.

    Blessings,
    Stacy
    (found you via the carnival!)

  3. Beautiful poem! I always found it wonderful how children live in the present – and can help bring us into the present, too!

  4. Lindsey says:

    Living in the present. . . a lesson my kids keep trying and trying to teach me, too. Lovely poem!

  5. ah, so true! children are the best way to learn about living in the moment.

  6. I love that last line! It’s so true. And the part about their easy forgiveness really touched me — it’s amazing and humbling to witness.

  7. stefanie says:

    such a lovely poem and sentiment!

  8. Alicia says:

    Beauitful poem! My little guy is 20 months and I’m loving his forgive and forget snuggles too🙂

  9. this is lovely and my post was about forgiveness too, so I can totally relate. Thanks for sharing mama🙂

  10. What a beautiful poem! The first lines really touch me – I felt the same way. I had no idea how capable I was until I nurtured a child in my womb and then at my breast. Simply amazing!

Leave a Reply

